PDA

View Full Version : Performance Potential of Merc 20H, 25SS, and 25XS

RickHex
03-18-2009, 05:54 AM
Hi,

I'm new to this forum and used to own a 10' runabout with a Mark 25 back in the 70's (when I was 13)

I'm a metallurgical/ceramic engineer and like to tinker with racing engines, transmissions, most recently auto/drag racing and in the past I really enjoyed building rebuilding a Mark 25 that I found in the neighbors garbage and was in pieces.

Now that I have kids on the way I'm starting to go back to my younger days and I'm interested into getting back into a runabout and/or hydroplane (both for myself and hopefully once the kids are old enough) and going fast! We live on a lake and enjoy pleasure boating, so having a hydro zipping around would be fun....

Of the Merc Mark 20H (both standard and converted carb/fuel pump/corn popper lower unit), 25SS, and 25XS, what setup or combination (both powerhead and lower unit) would be the lightest/fastest and offer the most potential in a given boat?

I'm looking for a engine and lower unit that I can work on/modify to go fast and something that also won't be really hard to find or cost an arm and a leg.

Does anyone have something tabulated on these engines like potential HP, torque, rpm, weight, advantages/disadvantages etc?

Thanks!

Rick Hexemer
Granite Falls, NC

bobvdinghyracer
03-18-2009, 07:18 PM
ok i`ll bite heres MY opinion .....based on personal use on a inflatable and a small homebuilt utility type boat .... comparisons are with a stock leg with all .. stock 9.8 = 22mph /
stock mark10a (autotrans) 22mph ... unimpressed
sooo ported to 200 specs , added 8 reed setup
+merc500 carb HUGE DIFFERENCE = 30MPH
/STOCKmerc200= 30mph /
MERC200 on mark20 leg with 7.5x12p 3blade brass aj series= 33 inflat.to39 on utility
merc 25xd stock 14p 3blade= low 20`s
merc25xd with stk tower cut tuner and mark20 gearbox with13p mk30prop =35/36 at 6200rpm ... no setup time