Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Evinrude E-TEC Outboards-What is your opinion?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Evinrude E-TEC Outboards-What is your opinion?

I am an amateur boat builder and recreational boater who is in the process of completing a 1970's vintage, 10 foot, 3 point hydro called a Super Spartan (see attached). I am considering buying a new 25 HP E-TEC motor because I have heard good things about the reliability, performance and low maintenance of these engines.

Has anybody had any experience with these outboards?

Thanks for your feedback.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    John Lucas

Post Thanks / Like

Default Little Do I Know....

EVERYTHING, EXCEPT PRICE, that I've heard is WONDERFUL...Clean, light, fast, no problems....

Post Thanks / Like

Talking second opinion...

not saying theres any thing wrong with the E-TEC...say your interested in a 25 HP manual start..
    first the E-TEC wieghts 177 lbs...then to work on it your got to have a lap top computor and about a 1000 dollars worth of Bombs software to check it out..
    now a 25 hp Merc Sea Pro from AFA Marine Small outboards on the internet..it accually a Tohatsu also a 2 stroke..just one single carb..no fance elec injectors..and it wieghts at 114 lbs
    they have been racing this engine all over the world and there almost bullet proof..
    and if your thinking 15 hp..the E-tec is still 177 lbs for its just a detoon 25/30 eng..
    Just my opinion..

Post Thanks / Like

we sale three to four a week, as a tech Ill say they are gonna be the next big thing, My brother had a boat like yours and I would say the weight of the 25 etec will be at the max that boat could float, there is not another engine in its class that has the torq either.
    I have a addiction its Powercat boats
    http://www.powercatboat.com/Group/SN.../SNichols.html

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kymarlee View Post