Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Matching hull to engine

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Matching hull to engine

Hello everyone - my first post; and I'm a 64 year old newbie to the powerboat sport.

I'm preparing to build my first boat and have chosen Hal Kelly's DU Class MADCAP.

I have the technical decision of pairing this hull with an engine. My first choice is the Mercury Mark A, with a displacement of 44 ci. But under the old APBA classes, the DU class was limited to 40 ci.

I can't afford to buy multiple motors and am wondering whether I should go with the 39.6 ci Mark 55. It has the advantage of weighing only 111 lbs vs 127 lbs. Weight is definitely a consideration because the driver - me - weighs a hefty 230 lbs. The old minimum racing weight for the DU Class was 525 lbs.

Of course there are other considerations and I would appreciate all comments & suggestions.

GH

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

The 44 cubic inch motors are legal in D stock.

The weight of these engines in the trim you need to run on that boat are all pretty much the same. That boat is designed for a Mk 55H engine. You might be seeing a difference between electric start or the weight of a different tower configuration, but the 55H is the engine that is listed at 111 pounds, and the other weights could be for the engines with the normal (15 inch) tower. The 55H has a short (12 inch) tower and a smaller streamlined gearfoot that has only direct drive, no neutral or reverse, so it's a lot lighter. To make the boat work right you will need a 55H tower and lower unit. You can't put a normal 15 inch tower on that boat unless you build the transom differently and then the motor is going to be up in the sky.