Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone ever installed there own nose cone

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Anyone ever installed there own nose cone

Thinking about buying a bobs nose cone/low water pickup to put on my 40hp evenrude. Has anyone done this themselves? And if so how hard and skill level/ tools needed. Or would it be easier to just send off or buy one already done?

FFX-61
    Post Thanks / Like

i've done it many times. on a nitro foot you should shorten the cone for best fit. my self i bond the cone on then have it tack welded , so i don't have to hope the welder gets it on right.

Part one of "Secrets of the OMC Mod 50" : http://www.boatracingfacts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2052

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm new to this so I don't guess I understand by what you mean shorten the cone? How hard is it to get it all straight? I have searched ever where to see what people are doing to to get theirs straight, and what they are doing to cover up the water pickup. Thanks levi

FFX-61
    Post Thanks / Like

did have some shots up hear once upon a time. did notice some pics have disappeared over time thinkin it was the format or some thing i used back then. i measure from the back of the bullet to the tip of the cone on each side. look around hear for Super Nitro foot , maybe some thing will come up

Part one of "Secrets of the OMC Mod 50" : http://www.boatracingfacts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2052

FFX-61
    Post Thanks / Like

hears a shot
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Nice, wonder if that hose comes with the kit? Over all difficulty?

Post Thanks / Like

I have done one on my omc 56, the one i did had no lwp through (running water pickup on the transom). there is no rocket science involved just a lot of fairing and grinding and fairing and grinding...