Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: expansion chamber seals and tuning

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default expansion chamber seals and tuning

Hi all, I'm thinking I will go ahead and give expansion chambers a try on my B-Mod. I want to try individual "dual" chambers, then try a single pipe for experiments. There is no way I could afford them, so I will make them myself. I'm a good welder. My knowledge though is still pretty limited about chambers. What I would like to know about is how sliding pipes are sealed...is it a special o-ring? The highest temp one I could find is only good for 600-degrees.

Also, if my motor makes max power at 7000rpm with factory exhaust, is that what I should start with for calculating tuned length? Basically, what range of rpm would I need to tune for on a sliding chamber? THANKS VERY MUCH!!

The calculated wave speed for a Y-80 is 1703-ft per second @ 15hp per 175cc cylinder (30hp 350cc total).

Post Thanks / Like

In PRO the sliding pipes are not sealed. Use an inner and outer straight pipes, you want them to easily slide, about 1/32" clearance all around. We slide them around 4". All the way in for max RPM and all the out to retune for lower RPM. PRO run in the neighborhood of 9-10,000 RPM to 12 - 14,000 RPM. Check out if you can find it "Two-Stroke Exhaust Systems" by Roy Bacon - Lodgemark Press LTD, England

I think, calculate for 7,000 Rpm and what ever RPM it runs thru the corners.

Post Thanks / Like

What is the power plant being used? If Yamato, I suggest that speak with Bill Van.

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks guys! I'm glad that I wont need to worry with a seal! What I have is a Yamato-80. I have a runabout that I set up for B-mod.