Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2 cycle oils

Post Thanks / Like

Default 2 cycle oils

What 2 cycle oils are you using. Are most of you using synthetic oils and have there been any tests that show it does a better job. Thanks for any input

Post Thanks / Like

Default oil

Lucas semi-synthetic gave us a couple hundred R's in our sst45. Bill
    It don't get no better than this.

Post Thanks / Like

I just thought some might have some stories on this. My background is I have yet to race. Done a lot of boating & skiing since I was a skirt and have always used Merc 2 cyle oil. A friend of mine told me a story a couple years ago when the synthetics came out he tried it with a new snowmobile that he got and burned up the motor first time out. Its kind of stuck in the back of my mind since then. When I went to my first race at Oroville it seemed like everyone was using Amsoil. I guess it is pretty good stuff.

Post Thanks / Like

I have been using Klotz TCW-3 Synthetic Outboard Lubricant in my Yamatos for about 6 years now. I mix the oil to the direction on the back of the container. The only problem I've had with the synthetic is when I did not follow the mixture specification on the back of the container. I mixed to much oil per gallon of gas and by the end of the season, the cylinders were glazed up in the motor not allowing the rings to seal properly, which caused a compression loss/horsepower loss. Remember, that synthetic oil is made to stick to the parts of the engine and if overmixed, or improperly mixed, it could hurt the performance of the engine. Also, I've found that the synthetics do not mix well with fogging oil, which is fine, because there is no need to fog an engine for storage when using synthetic.

The advantages I've found with synthetics are; the cylinder temperature is cooler and the cylinders have hardly any wear to them after a few years of racing the engine.
    Joe Silvestri
    CSH/500MH