Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Old Neal racer

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Old Neal racer

Anyone recognize this nice old original shape Neal I just barn found? Any idea how old it is? What size motor would be properly put on this hydro?is e10 the class it was raced in? I’m new to all this.does one put plugs in the back before use or leave open to drain?i couldn’t find a hull number any idea if they had them and where to look. Thanks for your looking it all over.
    Attached Images Attached Images       
    Last edited by Moses on water; 02-10-2018 at 06:10 PM. Reason: Found another nice picture

oldalkydriver

It looks like an old 'c' class. PR's or Hubble. It could be late 40's or early fifties. Too heavy for anything else.

Post Thanks / Like

The plugs stay in when on the water they are pulled when on land to drain accumulated water. Those planked bottom hydros did leak until the wood swelled some and were a constant maintenance to keep the bottom rear flat. What does it weigh, how long from front tip to rear bottom, from back of sponsons to rear bottom and width of flat rear bottom?
    " Three may keep a secret if two of them are dead" Ben Franklin
    " ------- well Doctor what have we got a Republic or Monarchy? A Republic he replies if you can keep it"
    Benjamin Franklin, 1787 Constitutional Convention, as recorded by signer James McHenry's in his diary at the Library of Congress

Team Member
    Post Thanks / Like