PDA

View Full Version : battery

ultrafast30
09-03-2012, 04:13 PM
I am starting to rig my 13 Alison. 56 inch omc with 150 PS I compression. considering a jet ski battery to save weight and space. anybody got any suggestions for this one.
Thanks

Mark75H
09-03-2012, 05:34 PM
I have used the Odyssey 680 with a lot of success on an inline 6 with very, very high compression - 275 psi. A few guys in APBA 850 hydro running the 49 ci triples also use the 680

Gene East
09-03-2012, 05:56 PM
Dave Mason is on this web site.

He's a boat racer and a battery manufacturer. Usually can find him on the pro, modified, stock threads or on the NBRA thread.

Best sourse of light weight H.D. batteries that I know of!

Good luck!

sharpeye Mike
09-03-2012, 06:04 PM
If your budget is tight, a lawn tractor battery works, I've been using one for three years now.
Mike

wolfgang
09-04-2012, 01:10 AM
I had the same thought and bought an Odyssey 680 for my `98 Force 4-cylinder (has Mercury electronics), only to be advised by CDI technical boffins upon later (stupid me) enquiry that they do not recommend the use of closed-cell batteries with modern outboard electronics.
As Odyssey lists jetskis in their applications (by model) and there is (to my knowledge) no difference between a jetski and an outboard powerplant, this statement has me flummoxed.
Can anybody share his superior knowledge on this issue please?

byrdsperformance@tds.net
09-04-2012, 01:33 AM
The main issue is CCA. The higher CCA. lawn & garden battery will do the job.
The smaller CCA. wont make a season in ower lawn mower's.
You mite conisider a barille, they cost more but are hi CCA. an very lite.

David Mason
09-05-2012, 01:18 PM
You can use a Jet Ski battery. It really depends on how you intend to use it. Do you have any acessories you plan to run off the battery, in addition to cranking the engine ?