PDA

View Full Version : Home made propeller

Glenno
12-15-2015, 11:26 PM
Hi all,
I am giving making a tubed cleaver for a 8hp Tohatsu a go.
Chopped blades of one of my Johnson 25hp stainless props and re-shaped, still a bit of fine tuning on blade shape to go.
Will make a jig and pitch block to weld blades on at 13 pitch and low rake.
Will keep pictures comming.

Glenno
12-19-2015, 03:12 AM
Hi all,

I Have added a trailing lip to the blades, they all still need to be sharpened and polished.
I have also started on a pitch block (I decided it does not need to be that pretty as I will only be making one of these props)
I have weighed each blade and they are within 1gram (I will also ballance the prop once it is all together somehow)
I am gauging my pitch block off 3 props I have here which are all 13 pitch.
Although I have played, re shaped, modified heaps of props I have never made one from scratch so I am no expert at this, I know full well this could fail but would love any information or help from anyone who has done this before.
Just something I am enjoying playing with.
Cheers,
Glenno

Fastjeff57
12-19-2015, 05:58 AM
Another nut like me! (Made several that way.) Be sure to leave LOTS of fillet where the blades are welded to the hub. (I didn't once and--whamo!--the blades broke off.)

Jeff

Roflhat
12-19-2015, 01:21 PM
Awesome project

zul8tr
12-19-2015, 01:53 PM
Quite a nice project. Do those blades have progressive pitch from leading to trailing edge at any given radius or a constant pitch at any given radius? If progressive pitch how will you get your desired 13" pitch?

Glenno
12-19-2015, 02:09 PM
Hi mate,
Yep the blades are progressive pitch the whole way up the blades.
It will be 13 in the centre. I have three props here that are 13 pitch which I am modeling my pitch off, two of those props are progressive pitch.