PDA

View Full Version : Old Neal racer

Moses on water
02-10-2018, 05:02 PM
Anyone recognize this nice old original shape Neal I just barn found? Any idea how old it is? What size motor would be properly put on this hydro?is e10 the class it was raced in? I’m new to all this.does one put plugs in the back before use or leave open to drain?i couldn’t find a hull number any idea if they had them and where to look. Thanks for your looking it all over.

oldalkydriver
02-10-2018, 10:11 PM
It looks like an old 'c' class. PR's or Hubble. It could be late 40's or early fifties. Too heavy for anything else.

zul8tr
02-11-2018, 10:24 AM
The plugs stay in when on the water they are pulled when on land to drain accumulated water. Those planked bottom hydros did leak until the wood swelled some and were a constant maintenance to keep the bottom rear flat. What does it weigh, how long from front tip to rear bottom, from back of sponsons to rear bottom and width of flat rear bottom?

Moses on water
02-11-2018, 01:39 PM
Thanks for helping to educate me in hydroplane.the total length of the boat is 8’8”.the length from the back of the sponsons to rear back is 50”. The width at the back is 33”.please pardon the blasphemous 2 holes in the top. Before I found it the barn it was stored in had rats that made a home with in and out hole in the sponson. They have been evicted permanently.i hope to do some repairs and put what you guys tell me is the proper motor on it, and bring it to some meets sometime before my wife kills me for buying it.i also was able to get me to issue me a title for it to legally use on the water between meets. They put unknown on the title for the year.but I got it and numbers!i believe it weighs about 80 lbs.

zul8tr
02-11-2018, 02:48 PM