PDA

View Full Version : In Passing - E.J. Ted Coates - Victoria, BC

John (Taylor) Gabrowski
06-23-2006, 03:04 PM
On June 20, 2006 E.J. Ted Coates of Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada and in retirement where he passed away at Victoria, British Columba, Canada. Ted was a member of the Manitoba Outboard Racing Association since the 1950s. A commercial pilot by trade and a lover of boats and motors was his serious hobby. Ted specialized in making C-Service engines up north here work real well. He raced in those early years with the likes of Jimmy Eberts, Jim Fanstone, Fenton and his son Terry Malley, Dennis Gordon and many others as in those days there were 50 registered Service and Stock Outboard drivers here that ran mult-class hydros and runabouts.

Ted was known for his raceboat building. He built Ogier hydro copies and his own brand of racing runabout called Banshee(s) that mixed up with the Desilvas of that era. I was the kid down the street who became his pitman by 1963 and by 1965 he had me in an Ogier hydro and increasingly racing ever since. He introduced me and got others like me into racing and was a mentor in so many ways. He introduced many of us up through the classes to famous and old time racers and great ALky men like Bill Tenney, Gene Minor, O.F. Christner, Jim Schoch and many many others who raced here and when they from here raced there.

Ted retired as a pilot by 1970 and with his wife Mazie moved to just outside of Victoria, B.C. where he lived until his passing away. He was predeceased by his wife Maizey some 15 years earlier. He has many grandchildren and greatgrandchildren around this area born and raised from Pine Falls and Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada areas.