View Full Version : 2001 Hydro PROP awards banquet

Miss BK
08-28-2007, 01:54 PM
Going through some old files I ran across this. Fun times.

2001 Hydro-Prop Awards
Sheraton Seattle Hotel and Towers

February 1, 2002

The 2002 Hydro-Prop awards banquet opened with a few words by Laurie Vidal followed by a prayer by Jan Vidal of Motor Racing Outreach. The banquet was next. The food was accompanied by background video and music. Steve Montgomery and Mark Evans took the stage at roughly 8:15 PM PST kicking off the official festivities. Following a brief introduction by Dave Williams of the Hydroplane and Raceboat Museum, there was a historical video which set the stage for the first awards of the night.

Following an Unlimited Light highlight video introduced by John Lynch, the 2001 awards began with the M&M Deli & Texaco Unlimited Light Hydroplane Racing Series:

Unlimited Lights Sponsors of the Year:
Race Site - Graham Trucking
Team - Freddie's Club

Unlimited Lights Official of the Year - Diane Patton

Unlimited Lights Race Site Coordinator of the Year - Jim Garza

Unlimited Lights Media Awards
Newspaper - Patti Payne, Eastside Journal
Radio - Tim McShane - KZOK
Television - Mike St. Amand - AeroFX Productions

Unlimited Lights Race Site of the Year - Valleyfield

Inspirational Award - Thunder Valley

Unlimited Lights Series 5th Place - Doug McIntosh

Unlimited Lights Series 4th Place - Dave Bender

Unlimited Lights Series 2nd Place Driver - Haas Racing

Unlimited Lights Series 2nd Place Team - Hopp Racing

Unlimited Lights Rookie of the Year - Vince Xaudaro

Unlimited Lights Series Sponsor - M&M Deli & Texaco - Matt & Marie Randish

Unlimited Lights Driver Champion - Phil Bononcini

Unlimited Lights Series Champion - Joe Frauenheim - UL-72 - Budweiser/Pocket Mechanic

Next, awards were presented to the Laughlin Formula One P.R.O.P. Tour presented by Bud Light. Bart Garbrecht introduced the series with a 2001 highlight video.

Larry Bowden Crew Performance Award - Fred Bowden Racing

Jim Everett Award Presented for Outstanding Leadership - Mike Tilton

Formula One Outstanding Marketing Sponsor of the Year - Telmex

Formula One Series 3rd Place - Tim Seebold - Bud Light Racing

Formula One Series 2nd Place - Terry Rinker - Rinker Boat Company

Bob Gillman Memorial Trophy - F1 High-Point Champion - Greg Foster-Wendt Racing

Steve & Mark returned to the stage for the presentation of awards for the 2001 Budweiser Unlimited Hydroplane series presented by Laughlin. The Unlimiteds were introduced by a 2001 highlight video. The Madison victory and the Tri-Cities phone book featuring the U-6 were discussed then the awards were handed out:

Hydro-Prop Sponsor of the Year - Laughlin, Nevada accepted by Julian Dugas - LVCVA

Commercial Race Sponsor of the Year - Belterra Casino accepted by Tony Steinhardt

National Corporate Marketing Award - Anheuser-Bush accepted by Joe Samel

Outstanding Race Site Promotion - General Motors Cup at Seafair accepted by Eric Radovich

Race Site of the Year - Evansville, Indiana accepted by Tom Sawyer

Outstanding Contribution to the Sport (presented by Bob Hughes) - Art Oberto

Outstanding Newspaper Coverage - Danny O'Neill - Seattle Times

Wayne Clapp, Association for Minorities in Motorsports, presented an award to Bart Garbrecht
and Hydro-Prop. Harold Mills also spoke and Carlos Kuri was introduced.

Unlimited Crew of the Year - Jones Racing accepted by Larry Hanson

Unlimited Owner of the Year - Bill Wurster - U-8 Llumar Window Film

Gar Wood Award - Gary Garbrecht and presented by Mike Jones

Unlimited Series 3rd Place - Greg Hopp - Znetix 100

Unlimited Series 2nd Place - Mark Weber - Miss EMCOR

Unlimited High Point Driver Champion - Dave Villwock - Miss Budweiser

Unlimited High Point Series Champion - Bernie Little - Miss Budweiser accepted by Joe Little

Bernie Little Highpoint World Champion - Charlie Strang explained the Martini and Rossi trophy is now the Bernie Little Highpoint World Championship Trophy. Joe Little received recognition for Bernie.

The very patriotic Greg Foster


Timmy takes a trophy