PDA

View Full Version : Evinrude 25/35 idling problems

bhunts
09-10-2009, 07:48 AM
This is probably pretty basic talk around here, but I am not too experienced with outboard motor repair.

Last evening I replaced the carburetor on my 1993 Evinrude with a 35 hp model I bought from a local parts store. Once installed (electric starter bracket removal was fun!) the motor started up but died when I tried to give it gas. I am not sure of the condition of the carb. It looks clean but who knows. It does hold prime though.

When I did throttle the engine, I did not see that the butterfly opened all the way. This is in neutral only so maybe it is different in gear??? I took care not to disturb the linkage when replacing the carbs.

Also the idle speed has definitely increased so I will need to adjust. What is the proper procedure with the idle screw on the front of the carb?

Any other ideas how I could remedy the prob. I plan on taking out to the water this evening for further testing.

JohnsonM50
09-10-2009, 12:43 PM
Ok starting with the basics, Id assume your gas is good, the tank & lines are clean & the fuel pump screen is clear of debris, working & go from there. You mentioned a 35HP carb but Im not clear on whether the motors a 25 or 35. The carburaters are different but should work ok.
If the idle is high you should be sure the timing/throttle syncrnization are set so when you adj. the needle it will idle down. If you adj. it while running on a hose with earmuffs you may find that its lean when you actually have it in water. Thats because the midsection being full of water will effect back pressure & volume of the mid. [best done on the boat in water]. The timing pickup adj. should be in the manual & can be done w/o the motor running. [sorry I dont have one for that later model]